Mo lives life one day at a time

When I first met Mo Musharaf, I didn’t really enjoy his company, to put it lightly. His loud and gregarious nature was a little too much for my quiet and laid-back self. But the more I got to know him, the more I saw what an awesome guy Mo really was.

Mo is a senior studying mechanical engineering. He was born in New York and has lived in Nashville since he was 8. His family is originally from Pakistan, and he has visited the country several times.

When I asked him what he likes most about Pakistan, he said he really likes the food and the dancing. “Dancing and music is celebrated all the time, and the food is always spicy,” he said. “The last time I went, we went to this great restaurant on the side of the road. I had nihari, which is a super-spicy goat curry dish, and it was freaking amazing! But, honestly, I’ll eat anything that’s in front of me.”

He explained that the Pakistani culture is very family-oriented and deeply rooted in religion. The people there are friendly, and sports such as soccer and cricket are a national pastime. On the downside, he mentioned that there’s not enough clean water and electricity available for cities during some parts of the day.

The way his culture shaped him as a person is seen through his day-to-day life. “I’m pretty friendly and a smart guy when it comes to school,” he said. “However, Pakistanis can be too high strung, and I’m not like that. It’s made me more aware to take life one day at a time.” He likes the quote, “What goes around comes around.” He explained, “You do good, good comes to you. You do bad, bad comes to you. It’s the rule of life.”

When you hang out with Mo, you see not only how fun and hilarious he is, but you also see how big his heart is. He may not be serious most of the time, but his heart for the people he cares about is seen very clearly every day.

How can you live out your life one day at a time?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Josh Odum says:

    Nice personality piece! You asked good questions to give your reader a sense of who Mo is. Love the layout of your blog as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlyreams says:

    This is a great post! I love the information on Pakistan culture which I know very little about. Mo really brings a great message about how to live life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s such a great idea to post about friends and their different cultures. I love the personalization and the quotes. This is a great feature piece!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

